Saving money at Costco!

DSC07871-BMost of us Costco shoppers love it for the good deals (and the samples- COME ON!), but ever wonder if there is a way to save more money at Costco?

First off, let’s be clear: Costco doesn’t accept coupons, other than their own. So don’t pick up a Sunday paper and get clipping thinking that you’re going to save a ton of cash at Costco that way, because… no. Not gonna happen. And most of the time, you don’t actually need the paper coupons from the Costco Flyer/Coupon book. The coupons come off at checkout OR the checkers all have the coupon books at their registers.

Here are my tips for saving money at Costco:

  1. Keep a Price book. You can learn more about them here. It will tell you if that 5 gallon drum of hummus is a better value than the small 16 oz tub at your regular grocery store. Sometimes bigger isn’t better. Top money savers at Costco for my family include Fat Free Milk and PB2.
  2. Make sure to use money saving and rebate apps! There is a full list here, but my favorites for Costco include Mobisave and Ibotta.  Any rebate app that is not store specific can be used to save extra cash at Costco. I cruise all my apps before I hit up the store. It takes just a few minutes, and I usually save $5-$10!
  3. Shop from a list. I know it’s an oldie, but a goodie. And it will help you save money.
  4. Don’t shop hungry. Or with hungry kids.
  5. If you’ve never had a membership, before you shell out the cash, check Groupon and see if they are offering their discounted Costco Memberships. A few times a year you can get a membership for $55 (which, btw is the regular price), but it comes with a $20 cash card, and a booklet of coupons for free merchandise- including their rotisserie chicken, which we love. You can only buy it if you’ve never had a membership. TRUST ME.

Talk Back: What are your tips for keeping the grocery bill down at Costco?

5 thoughts on “Saving money at Costco!

  1. Rebecka May 9, 2016 / 11:21 am

    Great ideas! I for one will go to Costco just for the samples 😉
    We didn’t have a membership for a couple of years and we ended up getting the deal you’re talking about but it was through Living Social and not Groupon.
    Thanks for the tips!

    Like

    • abbyhewes May 10, 2016 / 11:46 am

      My son asks to “go out for lunch” at Costco on weekends! Groupon had the deal a few months back, but I’ve also seen it on Living Social too.

      Like

  2. Angela Quisumbing May 10, 2016 / 1:43 am

    Creating a price book is a neat idea. I never thought of that. I often find myself opening up the calculator in my phone and checking the cost per unit to see if I am really getting a deal. Thanks for your tips. We usually go to Costco to eat pizza or munch on the free samples. I try to just get the few bilk items I need then leave right away, or else I’ll regret it. There’s so much to look at!

    Like

Leave a Reply

